Impact Safety Inc. offers Scaffold Competent Person Training Courses at Reasonable Prices
August 11, 2021
Osha Safety Training
5 Benefits of OSHA Safety Training
August 21, 2021

All you need to know about OSHA certification

OSHA Safety Certification

An OSHA safety certification is often a requirement for jobs in the construction and maritime industries. You are likely to see job postings indicating that applicants must possess an OSHA 10 or OSHA 30 certification to qualify. But what is a certification exactly and do you really need one? Read on to find out everything you need to know.

OSHA certification

What is OSHA certification?

If a potential employer wants you to be OSHA 10 or 30 certified, it means that they want proof that you have fulfilled an OSHA Outreach Training Program course. Graduates get a 10-hour or 30-hour OSHA completion card depending on the training module they have completed.

Despite its name, the OSHA safety certification is not provided by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration. That’s because courses are voluntary. Some municipalities and states may require the training as a condition for employment, but it is not an OSHA requirement. None of the courses in the program are treated as a certification. That said, employers and workers often use the terms “OSHA 10 and OSHA 30 certification when referring to the Outreach training.

OSHA 10 Certification

The 10-hour OSHA certification course is meant for general industry workers. The course teaches them to identify, avoid, prevent, and abate job-related hazards at work. The module covers many different general industry safety and health hazards a worker may encounter, with emphasis on hazard avoidance, identification, and prevention and control. There is also a specific type of OSHA 10 certification course for construction workers.

OSHA 30 Certification

The 30-hour OSHA safety certification course trains workers and supervisors on safety responsibility, with emphasis on hazard identification, control, prevention, and avoidance, in addition to OSHA standards.

Both OSHA 10 and OSHA 30 training covers employer responsibilities, how to file a complaint, and workers’ rights under OSHA.

How long is the OSHA certification valid?

Completion cards do not expire, but it is recommended that you undergo OSHA safety training every four to five years. That way, you can stay up to date with the latest industry practices and safety regulations. Just be sure to consult with local regulatory authorities to know more about training guidelines that may be specific to your state or municipality.

osha safety training certification

Getting OSHA certification

Whether you require an OSHA 10 or OSHA 30 certification, be sure to find credible and established training programs offered by reputable companies. This will give you access to all of the latest knowledge that is essential to your industry. Classes can cover a wide range of topics, such as fall protection, OSHA construction, HAZWOPER, and excavation.

Impact Safety is a comprehensive safety source trusted by discerning businesses in all fields and industries looking to create a compliant and safe work environment while reducing risks in their workplace. We offer training and OSHA safety certification to get yourself and your workers certified. We provide 10-hour and 30-hour training if you require both or either service.

Skip to toolbar